Defies Categorization: Don't Eat Where You…

Most people have heard the saying, “Don’t [relieve yourself] where you eat,” as pertains particularly to workplace relationships. However, I’ve just become aware of a restaurant that flips the saying on its head and does its level best to ruin your appetite.

It’s in Taiwan, and it’s called Modern Toilet Restaurant.  I can’t sum up the apparent dining experience better than the Time Magazine article Mr. K sent me:

Every customer sits on a stylish acrylic toilet (lid down) designed with images of roses, seashells or Renaissance paintings. Everyone dines at a glass table with a sink underneath. The servers bring your meal atop a mini toilet bowl (quite convenient, as it brings the food closer to your mouth), you sip drinks from your own plastic urinal (a souvenir), and soft-swirl ice cream arrives for dessert atop a dish shaped like a squat toilet.

Yeah.  And the menu is, well, unique and consistent.  Just imagine what your soft-serve chocolate ice cream is likely to approximate.  Actually, don’t imagine it.  These are the Interwebs, after all.  Why don’t I just show you?

yummy!

yummy!

I’m actually surprised I haven’t seen this place featured on Bizarre Foods with Andrew Zimmern.  I mean, he went to a restaurant specializing in mayonaisse once…

I’m afraid I’m letting Mr. K down here, because I can’t come up with much to say about this.  Go visit the page and see if you aren’t similarly speechless.  I’m thinking the best thing one could say is what I heard once from Bart Simpson:  “It’s craptacular!”

1 comment so far

  1. C Krusty on

    I think a field trip is in order to fully document this place.


Leave a Reply

